The Billecart family has been living in Mareuil-sur-Ay since the 16th century. When Nicolas Francois Billecart married Elisabeth Salmon in the early 1800s the two families’ long held vineyards were married as well. This led to Nicolas’ decision to leave his law practice and take over the family wine estate. In 1818 he founded the house of Billecart-Salmon, which now stands as the oldest continuously family owned and operated house in Champagne. It is currently managed by the seventh generation, brothers Francois and Antoine Roland-Billecart. The cellars are in the hands of renowned “chef de cave” Francois Domi.